The Tate

Originally formed as the National Gallery of British Art in 1897, The Tate is an institution of four art museums in the United Kingdom. It was renamed Tate Gallery in 1932 to include the national collection of Modern Art. Today, the four galleries are Tate Britain (containing British art from 1500 to the present day); Tate Modern (featuring all British and international modern and contemporary art from 1900 to the present day); Tate Liverpool (founded in 1988 and housing modern art); and Tate St. Ives (founded in 1993 and located in Cromwell. It displays modern and contemporary art with connections to the area). Each year it awards the prestigious Turner Prize in art at Tate Britain. 


Latitude: 51.491062100000
Longitude: -0.127788600000