The Commonwealth of Australia comprises the mainland of the Australian continent as well as several islands, including Tasmania. Its capital is Canberra, and its most populated city is Sydney. Australia was long inhabited by Aborigines before the first British and Dutch settlements. Australia’s eastern half was claimed by Great Britain and used as a penal colony. Australia became a commonwealth in 1901.