Formerly known as Peking, Beijing is the capital of the People’s Republic of China. It is one of the oldest cities in the world with a history dating back at least three millennia. The city hosts seven UNESCO World Heritage Sites, including the Forbidden City and the Summer Palace. Beijing is also the site of the Second Opium War (1856–1860), the outcome of which gave Western nations the right to establish a permanent diplomatic presence in China. Mao Zedong established the Peoples Republic of China on 1 October 1949 and restored the city’s name of Beijing.


Latitude: 39.905905238833
Longitude: 116.391241550450