The Capitol Hill

The Capitol Hill, also known as the Capitoline Hill, Capitolium, or mons Capitolinus, is one of the six hills of Rome. The Capitoline Hill is the smallest of these six hills, and itself possesses two peaks. The hill was mostly a religious center, though the Capitol was also the site of a few governmental functions related to consuls and provincial governors. It is the site of the temple dedicated to the Roman gods and goddesses Jupiter Optimus Maximus, Juno, and Minerva. The original temple was burnt down in 83 BC. In 390 BC, the Gauls unsuccessfully attempted to overtake the Capitoline Hill.


Latitude: 41.893359200000
Longitude: 12.482801800000