Galápagos archipelago

The Galápagos Islands belong to the Republic of Ecuador and are located in the Pacific Ocean west of Ecuador. They are an archipelago of volcanic islands straddling the Equator. The islands are particularly famous for Charles Darwin’s observations and collections of the native species during his second voyage on the HMS Beagle (1835). Famous island species include the Galápagos tortoise, Galápagos mockingbirds—which Darwin studied in particular—and Galápagos penguins.

Timeline of Events Associated with Galápagos archipelago

Date Event Manage
Oct 1831 to Oct 1836

Darwin's voyage on the Beagle

Photograph of Charles DarwinFrom October 1831 to October 1836, Charles Darwin circumnavigated the world as ship’s naturalist on board the H.M.S. Beagle; he later published his first book based on the journal of his experiences and observations during the voyage. Image: Henry Maull and John Fox, Photograph of Charles Darwin (c. 1854). This image is in the public domain in the United States because its copyright has expired.


Nancy Armstrong, “On Charles Darwin’s The Descent of Man, 24 February 1871″

Ian Duncan, “On Charles Darwin and the Voyage of the Beagle

Anna Henchman, “Charles Darwin’s Final Book on Earthworms, 1881”

Cannon Schmitt, “On the Publication of Charles Darwin’s On the Origin of Species, 1859″

Related Articles

Daniel Bivona, “On W. K. Clifford and ‘The Ethics of Belief,’ 11 April 1876″