Hawai’i is the most recent state to join the United States in 1959. It is an archipelago of hundreds of islands in the Pacific Ocean, though there are eight main islands, with the island of Hawai’i being the largest. The capital of Hawai’i is Honolulu. Polynesian settlers first inhabited the islands, and Captain James Cook was the first European to arrive in 1778; he named them the Sandwich Islands for the Earl of Sandwich. The House of Kamehameha ruled from 1795–1872. In 1887, King Kalākaua was forced to sign the 1887 Constitution of the Kingdom of Hawaii, which ceded much power to local businessmen; it is known as the Bayonet Constitution. Queen Lili’uokalani took the throne in 1891 and was the last Hawaiian monarch, having been overthrown in 1893. Today, Hawai’i is a popular tourism destination. Pearl Harbor is a prominent US Naval Base that was attacked in 1941 during World War I. 


Latitude: 19.648968084479
Longitude: -155.521087646480