Jaffna is a major city in Sri Lanka and serves as the capital of the Northern Province. Jaffna’s population drastically decreased following the Sri Lankan Civil War in the 1980s due to damage to the city, military occupation, and expulsion. Jaffna was colonized by the Portuguese before the Dutch took control in 1619 and then the British in 1796.


Latitude: 9.664736266995
Longitude: 80.009311438043