Jakarta, formerly Batavia, is the capital city of Indonesia. Batavia was established in 1619 as the capital of the Dutch East Indies and as the center of the Dutch East India Company’s trading network in Asia. Batavia remained a colonial city until 1942 when the Dutch East Indies fell under Japanese occupation. Full Indonesian independence was achieved on 27 December 1949, and Jakarta was officially proclaimed the national capital of Indonesia.

Parent Map


Latitude: -6.175515640428
Longitude: 106.827142240360