Lahore is the capital city of the province of Punjab in eastern Pakistan, near the border with India. In the early nineteenth century, it was the capital city of the Sikh Empire. The British East India Company seized control of Lahore in 1846 during the First Anglo-Sikh War. On 9 March 1846, the city was the site of the Treaty of Lahore, which marked the end of the war and substantially reduced Sikh territory. Lahore played an important role in the independence movements of both India and Pakistan. It was the site of the Purna Swaraj declaration of Indian independence in 1929, and the Lahore Resolution calling for the establishment of Pakistan in 1940.


Latitude: 31.516062953670
Longitude: 74.329347617459