Oxford Union Society

The Oxford Union Society is a debating society founded in 1823 and located in Frewin Court, Oxford, England. Membership is drawn primarily from the University of Oxford. The original Union buildings were designed by Benjamin Woodward and opened in 1857. Alfred Waterhouse was commissioned to design a free-standing debating chamber in the gardens, opened in 1879. The original Woodward debating chamber, now known as “The Old Library,” is best known for its Pre-Raphaelite murals. Walter Mills and Thorpe designed the final building extensions, built in 1910–11, in Gothic Revival style.


Latitude: 51.752802989124
Longitude: -1.259663700621