Papua is the largest province in Indonesia and is bordered by Papua New Guinea. Its capital is Jayapura. When the Dutch colonized the area, it was known as Dutch New Guinea. The name Papua was adopted in 2002, changing it from Irian Jaya. Native Papuans, particularly those advocating for self-determination, used the name “West Papua” beginning in 1961.


Latitude: -3.704082568728
Longitude: 138.553466945890