Polynesia is made up of more than 1,000 islands scattered over the central and southern Pacific Ocean. The term “Polynesia” was first used in 1756 to apply to all Pacific islands, though it has since been specified. Some parts of Polynesia are independent nations, such as Tonga, Samoa, and New Zealand, and other parts are territories such as Norfolk Island, Easter Island, and American Samoa.


Latitude: -16.839501900000
Longitude: -148.371690200000