Royal Society

The President, Council and Fellows of the Royal Society of London for Improving Natural Knowledge, commonly known as the Royal Society, is a scientific society founded in November 1660. Between 1780 and 1873, the society was based at Somerset House, a large neoclassical building situated on the south side of the Strand in central London. Due to lack of space, the society moved to Burlington House, a Palladian mansion on Piccadilly in Mayfair in 1873. Since 1967, the society has been operating from 6–9 Carlton House Terrace (built by John Nash between 1827 and 1832), in St James’s, in the City of Westminster. Royal Society Fellows have included Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin, Michael Faraday, and Stephen Hawking.


Latitude: 51.505752754191
Longitude: -0.133100151797