Tierra del Fuego

Spanish for “Land of Fire,” Tierra del Fuego is an archipelago located at the southernmost part of the South American mainland. It is divided between Argentina and Chile and comprises several islands, Isla Grande de Tierra del Fuego (that main island), Cape Horn, and Diego Ramírez Islands. Ferdinand Magellan’s crew were the first Europeans to explore the area. Francis Drake visited the islands in 1578, as did Charles Darwin aboard the HMS Beagle


Latitude: -54.805399800000
Longitude: -68.324206100000

Timeline of Events Associated with Tierra del Fuego

Date Event Manage
Oct 1831 to Oct 1836

Darwin's voyage on the Beagle

Photograph of Charles DarwinFrom October 1831 to October 1836, Charles Darwin circumnavigated the world as ship’s naturalist on board the H.M.S. Beagle; he later published his first book based on the journal of his experiences and observations during the voyage. Image: Henry Maull and John Fox, Photograph of Charles Darwin (c. 1854). This image is in the public domain in the United States because its copyright has expired.


Nancy Armstrong, “On Charles Darwin’s The Descent of Man, 24 February 1871″

Ian Duncan, “On Charles Darwin and the Voyage of the Beagle

Anna Henchman, “Charles Darwin’s Final Book on Earthworms, 1881”

Cannon Schmitt, “On the Publication of Charles Darwin’s On the Origin of Species, 1859″

Related Articles

Daniel Bivona, “On W. K. Clifford and ‘The Ethics of Belief,’ 11 April 1876″