Versailles Palace

The Palace of Versailles was the principal residence of the monarchs of France prior to the French Revolution. It is located to the southwest of Paris, and the former city of Versailles is now a suburb of Paris. Originally a hunting lodge, the palace was expanded significantly by King Louis XIV. In 1783, the Treaty of Paris was signed at Versailles to recognize the independence of the United States. The Women’s March on Versailles on 5 October 1789 compelled the royal family to leave the palace, and it was subsequently closed and its art works moved to the Louvre. It features the historic Hall of Mirrors, where the Treaty of Versailles was signed to end World War I. The palace is now a Unesco World Heritage site.


Latitude: 48.804781136348
Longitude: 2.120418213335