Zimbabwe is a landlocked country in southern Africa, and its capital is Harare. People have inhabited the region for 100,000 years, and the first Bantu-speaking people arrived 2000 years ago. European colonists arrived in the 1880s. Cecil Rhodes and the British South Africa Company came to mine the land. The territory was named Rhodesia in 1895 by the British, which then became Southern Rhodesia in 1898. The United Kingdom annexed it in 1923. In 1953, Britain consolidated Southern Rhodesia, Northern Rhodesia, and Nyasaland into the Central African Federation, which fell apart in 1963. They issued a declaration of independence in 1965.


Latitude: -18.974697058357
Longitude: 29.944458380342